On the hunt. For a house.

First off, I have to admit that getting this house organized has been slow going. You know that corner in the kitchen?  It looks about the same.  However, I have been able to keep other things straight. Like laundry has been put away.  I’ve even vacuumed a bit.  I count that as success.

More importantly, though, I’ve figured out how to get this house clean. MOVE!

Yes, that’s extreme.  And seems a tad unrealistic.

But it gets to one of the main issues here: suffocation.

We spend our days indoors.  Sure, we play outside a little bit, but our neighborhood isn’t really conducive to kids playing in their yards. Mainly because there are no yards.  Or at least there is no yard here.  The parks are frequented by idle transients and random parked cars.  And the occasional street walker.  Sounds like fun, right?

So we’re looking at purchasing a home with a yard.  Renting something affordable is more difficult than it sounds–our rent right now is unbeatable for the safety factor–and I really don’t want to move into another rental.  Why?  I don’t like improving on someone else’s property. If the landlord had repaired the electrical outlets in the girls’ room, I might feel loyalty and pride, but he has refused, leaving them with no power in the room.  Jerk.

We are going for a comfortable and modest home.  In Kansas.  House hunting is exhilarating and nerve wracking at the same time.  I could look at listings all day. The financials frighten me, though. We’re pre-approved, not just pre-qualified, so at least the bank has preliminary faith in us.  But do I?  We’ll see how this goes. We start looking on Sunday. I’ll keep you posted.

 

March 3, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

