Will my soul survive the suburbs?

Fair question. Really, I swear.  I grew up in Memphis, TN.  No, not in Germantown or Olive Branch.  In midtown Memphis in the heart of the city.  I went to college in that haven of urban grit Baltimore, MD.  After that, though, I moved to Golden, CO, for a little less than a year.  That introduced me front and center to the suburbs.

Sure, I’d been exposed to some of it before that. My dad and his family built a home in Kennesaw, GA, getting to decide such things as where to put the garage (left or right), the finish (stucco or brick–only the front mind you, since the rest was all siding), or other little things.  Really, their house looked exactly like everyone else’s in the neighborhood.

Around the same time as my college graduation, my mother moved to Metairie, LA, and lemme tell you.  Metairie consists of miles and miles of homes that look alike.  Block after block of 70s ranch houses. It’s easy to get lost.

But I always said that really raw urban life was for me.  After my time in Golden (which was glorious in many ways–mountain life was fun, even though I don’t remember much of it. I worked at Coors Brewing Company.  Two words: free beer. ‘Nuf said.), I moved back to urban life, always living in midtown areas.  I love the traffic, the stores, the dirt.

In Kansas City, however, it’s not working for our family.  We live in the Northeast area north of Independence Avenue.  It is wonderful in many ways. Beautiful homes with lots of character, people trickling into the neighborhood and buying old Victorian houses that need some TLC.  Our rental is one of those houses.  Our landlord has done some work to it, but it’s not finished.  Can’t beat the price.  Heck, we could even buy this house if we wanted!

We don’t want to buy it.

We’d like 4 bedrooms.  We’d like a big yard.  We’d like for Ryan to be closer to work.  We’d like for us to have good schools for the kids.

So we’re moving to the suburbs.  Well, I should qualify it.  First of all, we’re not moving yet. We haven’t even put in an offer on the house we like.  But we’re headed to the agent’s office this afternoon to put together the paperwork.

This house has 4 bedrooms, a nice yard, a decent commute (with access to public transit! YES!), and great schools, one of which is merely around the corner.  So we’re making a move.

Will this compromise hinder my “process”? NOPE. It will help. Sure, I won’t get my 4 story Victorian mansion (which I could have here in Northeast. Yes, I could), but I’ll get a fixer-upper I can make my own.  I’ll get convenience. I’ll get a safe grocery store.  I’ll get Ryan commuting less.  Lucky me.

March 9, 2011. Tags: , , , . Getting happy.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

